Reviews from Facebook, Google and Trip Advisor

Based near Leeds, we offer a broad range of rock-climbing, mountaineering and navigation courses in Yorkshire and the Peak District, North Wales, the Lake District, and the highlands of Scotland. Please have a read of some kind words below from past clients, and get in touch if you too would like to write a review from your experience.

Reviews from Facebook

  • positive review  Had the most amazing 3 days scrambling and Munro bagging in Glencoe with Patrick this week. Day 1 took us up Stob Dearg via Curved Ridge and Crowberry Tower which was fantastic and so was the weather! This route is defo a most do if you are thinking of going! Day 2 we went up Ben Nevis via Ledge Route and despite the rain we had another awesome day, the scrambling was fab and the North Face is truly magnificent! Another must do route, even with the massive bog at the end 🤣 Day 3 we aimed to get up Aonach Dubh but the weather was shocking and we admitted defeat half way up, but the pub lunch was yum and my legs were grateful! Patrick was very patient and knowledgeable throughout the trip, i felt safe at all times and would 110% recommend a scrambling course with him. The scrambling was extremely fun, the evenings were hilarious, we had such a great time! Whatever you do don't mention the Mysterons 🙈🤣

    thumb Emma Samantha Atherton
    17th August 2019

    positive review  I had the best day Rock Climbing at Almscliffe Crag with Patrick, this was my first time climbing and I was made to feel comfortable, safe and supported throughout. I learnt so much and even when I struggled, Patrick was extremely patient and motivational with his supportive words and advice that kept me going, I felt I have achieved something amazing that I wouldn't of been able to do without him and also thoroughly enjoyed the day which was well needed! Thank you Patrick, looking forward to more outdoor adventures! 🧗‍♀️☺️

    thumb Sophie Olivia Robson
    22nd July 2019
  • positive review  I booked Patrick for a private rock climbing improvers course (19th and 20th June 2019) and could not have been happier. Patrick understood everything I wanted to achieve and designed a flexible 2 day session which improved my climbing skills, my decision making and most importantly has given me the confidence to take my climbing to the next stage. I highly recommend Patrick to anyone who wants to progress… A fantastic few days of climbing and instruction.

    thumb Alan McGing
    24th June 2019

    positive review  I struggled scrambling due to my huge fear of heights, which I wanted to beat, and Patrick helped all the way through! Great support in achieving a personal goal ❤️

    thumb Mara Panozzo
    1st March 2019
  • positive review  Patrick arranged three great days of mountaineering in the Cairngorms for my friend and I. He was very flexible on the program, and careful to adapt it to our needs and expectations so we can best improve our mountaineering skills. He was constantly sharing great tips and his knowledge of mountaineering in general was impressive. Also his knowledge of the area was very useful as he was still able to find interesting routes and things to do despite the uncooperative weather. Patrick was also friendly and nice, and we very much enjoyed his company in the mountains. We had a lot of fun building snow caves and emergency shelters as we had asked him to specifically cover that. Highly recommended!

    thumb Cyprien de Masson
    19th February 2019

    positive review  I have just completed a one day taster in lead trad climbing with Patrick. The course was excellent. He invested time in establishing clearly what our goals for the day were and clearly gave a lot of thought as to how we would achieve these. His approach was flexible; the weather was not conducive to doing everything outdoors but he managed to adapt and keep us on track by moving indoors where there was more to be learnt relevant to trad climbing than I would have imagined! His approach was engaging and thought provoking and his exercises and explanations were all very clear. I would certainly consider doing another course with him.

    thumb Johnathan Todd
    2nd December 2018
  • positive review  Patrick arranged an absolutely fantastic introductory climbing session for our 15 year old son, who is mad keen on climbing but has never been on real rock before. The Cow and Calf at Ilkley was a great choice of site, and Patrick was brilliant at tailoring the progression of climbs according to the circumstances and explained everything very clearly. Safety was never in any doubt at any stage. Very highly recommended indeed, thanks Patrick!

    thumb Kevin Gale
    31st October 2018

    5 star review  I'm still on the high from last weekend when I got to climb with Patrick in Snowdonia. Driven by my passion for multi-pitch routes and a desire to better understand the mechanics of trad climbing I booked this course with Patrick and it did not disappoint! I learned an incredible amount in just two days surrounded by some of the most stunning scenery on earth. I completed my longest route to date ('Hope' on Idwal Slabs) and even got to do an abseil! I can't thank Patrick enough for his professionalism, sharing his expertise and for making sure I got the most out of my time on the rock 🙂

    thumb Rachel Parker
    26th July 2018
  • 5 star review  My fiance and I had a fantastic day trying out multi-pitch trad climbing, scrambling and basic navigation with Patrick. He was excellent at tailoring the day to my level of experience and needs. A truly safe pair of hands, with good taste for the local brew. Thanks again Patrick!

    thumb Anthony Harrison
    13th July 2018

    5 star review  Many thanks to Patrick for a thoroughly enjoyable two days doing my silver NNAS course. Not only is he extremely knowledgeable and experienced but he is also excellent at conveying things in the right way for his audience. Very patient and flexible and inspires confidence - I learned more than I expected to. Thanks very much.

    thumb Helen Collier
    28th June 2018
  • 5 star review  I had a great time with Patrick on the navigation course. I learned a lot and enjoyed being out in the Welsh mountains. Everything was well organised and taught - and the hostel is one of the best!

    thumb Mike David
    20th April 2018

    5 star review  The advanced scrambling course in Wales was great, enabling me to achieve heights I wouldn't have, without the safety and guidance from a skilled leader. Thanks Patrick

    thumb Laura Coy
    16th April 2018
  • 5 star review  Top notch map reading and navigation course with Patrick, who is as patient and professional as he is knowledgeable! Highly recommended. Loved every minute, and am looking forward to putting into practice everything that I have learnt. Thank you so much, Patrick!

    thumb Siân Morris-Tait
    8th April 2018

    5 star review  I had an incredible time with Patrick stepping it up and taking on some winter climbing for the first time! He tailored the 3 days based on my goals, made each day fun despite the terrible weather and I felt that I'd come away with a ton of knowledge and confidence. Cheers Patrick! Maybe next year at Aonach Eagach?

    thumb Advait Kapadia
    27th February 2018
  • 5 star review  A huge thanks Patrick for giving us the opportunity to climb in the Cairngorms this week .. it would not of been possible without you and you made the experience fun (type 2 of course). Winter climbing can be difficult at the best of times but with your high standards of professionalism and safety we were able to relax and enjoy the climbing will definitely be seeing you again x

    thumb Angela Moroney
    16th January 2018

    5 star review  Had a great weekend of winter climbing in Fort William! I have learnt so much from Patrick and enjoyed my time ! It was a pleasant experience, a real hard work climbing in such a cold weather however Patrick can turn it to a real achievement by giving the full confidence, support and safety needed .. definitely will do much more of that and i hope I can be an experienced climber one day.

    thumb Nour Bassatne
    7th January 2018
  • 5 star review  After a weekend of scrambling in Snowdonia and being lucky enough to have great weather with the most amazing views it is very easy for me to recommend Patrick as your guide. Having a panic attack climbing the north gully of Tryfan Patrick gave me the coaching and confidence to succeed to the summit of the North Ridge of Tryfan. What a sense of achievement. Patrick starts the weekend with a talk on how the body changes temperature in the various elements of the weather, including wind chill and what happens if clothing gets wet from either rain or sweat. He then explains why it is essential to have the right kit and the success of any adventure is being prepared. Thank you Patrick and I look forward to the next adventure.

    thumb Fiona Love
    20th November 2017

    5 star review  I had a 10/10 weekend in Snowdonia scrambling with Patrick back in July and had an absolute blast! The scrambles we did were stunning and pretty challenging for someone who's never done any scrambling before but I felt completely comfortable the whole time. Patrick is very focused on safety and explaining the basics of rope work, navigation and weather, but always checks in with the group to make sure everyone is having fun (be that type 1 fun or type 2 fun!). I learned some cool new knots, had some tasty pub dinners after long days, and will definitely be back for more!

    thumb Jacqueline Towers
    16th October 2017
  • 5 star review  An excellent day out yesterday on a National Navigation Award Scheme tutor course. Many thanks for all the ideas and the great company.

    thumb Andrew Foxon
    28th September 2017

    5 star review  I completed the two day NNAS Bronze course with Patrick in Ilkley and learnt so much from it. Starting with an introduction to using different maps, we then looked at contours and compass work followed by distance measuring and route planning. Patrick is very knowledgeable and made sure I understood what was being taught before moving onto the next thing and was able to answer any questions I had. I have taken away a lot of skills from the course and now have the confidence to go out and practice. I would highly recommend booking onto a course with Patrick and I will be again in the future.

    thumb Callum Coxhead
    22nd September 2017

Reviews from Google

Booked a 3 day scrambling course in Glencoe with Patrick and it was amazing! My friend wanted to push herself and get into scrambling, she isn't great with heights and has only been up Helvellyn, she wanted to overcome her fears and achieve some goals. I have done scrambling before so knew a little bit but i also wanted to bag a few Munro's. Patrick was fantastic, he catered for both our needs and we both came away with a wealth of knowledge. My friend pushed herself and achieved her goal of doing a grade 3 scramble and i learnt loads to help me improve and bagged 3 more Munro's 🙂 We were delighted with every aspect of the trip and would 110% recommend Patrick. He is an excellent instructor, extremely knowledgeable and really patient. Can't wait to book another trip!Emma Atherton30th September 2019
I have completed a few courses with Patrick consisting of climbing, scrambling and navigation. He is extremely knowledgeable and very professional in his work along with being friendly and easy to get along with. He will manage each day to your specific needs making sure you gain experience by explaining each process throughout the course along with answering any questions you may have giving you valuable information to take away.Callum Coxhead18th September 2019
Patrick's passion for mountaineering is highly infectious; and he is equally passionate about sharing his expansive knowledge and skills to equip you with the right tools to pursue it. Out on the mountains, the same set of knowledge and skills inspire confidence so that I know I can take risks in order to up my game. Great show of leadership and control through difficult situations. When the weather turns unfavourable, he presents risks and alternatives rather than flat out saying something's impossible unless it actually is too dangerous and impossible. Every trip I've been to with TSIO has been the best time of my life.Sherima Tepenn Amilhamja17th September 2019
I've been out twice with Patrick (owner of TSiO). First off he took myself and my partner up Helvellyn and onto the Priest Hole Cave on a glorious September day. Patrick gave some great instruction on map reading and navigation, as well being knowledgable in picking a safe route to the cave (which you shouldn't attempt without a guide). On another day, Patrick took me and another in the group for two days scrambling in Snowdonia. Patrick is hugely experienced, great company and an excellent communicator. I would highly recommend him if you are looking for someone to guide you or instruct you in some of the more technical aspects of mountaineering, climbing or scrambling. He's an International Mountain Leader and has climbed all over the world.Lawrence Bromley13th September 2019
Patrick is an Excellent provider. I thoroughly enjoyed participating on the NNAS Tutor training with his relaxed and friendly style of delivery.Nigel Addy4th September 2019
Patrick is great! I've had two 1:1 courses with him. Trad multi pitch skills and self rescue skills. Both courses were tailored to my requirements. They were fun and I felt confident in what I had learnt. We even went for a beer afterwards.Thomas Puddy3rd September 2019
Patrick took my friend and I to a winter mountaineering skills intro course in Cairngorms. Skilled and friendly guide!Vincent ADAM3rd September 2019
Very professional, experienced and fantastic knowledge on top of being a great educator. Fully recommend Patrick for anyone pursuing to learn or expand any outdoor related skills.Toni Alcaraz2nd September 2019
Top notch map reading and navigation course with Patrick, who is as patient and professional as he is knowledgeable! Highly recommended. Loved every minute, and am looking forward to putting into practice everything that I have learnt. Thank you so much, Patrick!FoxTait Morris-Tait31st August 2019

Reviews from Trip Advisor

      I have completed a few courses with Patrick consisting of climbing, scrambling and navigation.
    He is extremely knowledgeable and very professional in his work along with being friendly and easy... read more

    CallumCoxhead
    9/18/2019

      Patrick's passion for mountaineering is highly infectious; and he is equally passionate about sharing his expansive knowledge and skills to equip you with the right tools to pursue it. Out... read more

    RurouniShiri
    9/17/2019

      I've been out twice with Patrick (owner of TSiO). First off he took myself and my partner up Helvellyn and onto the Priest Hole Cave on a glorious September day.... read more

    Lawrence B
    9/13/2019

      Patrick is an Excellent provider. I thoroughly enjoyed participating on the NNAS Tutor training with his relaxed and friendly style of delivery.

    Nige0_3
    9/04/2019

      Patrick is great! I've had two 1:1 courses with him. Trad multi pitch skills and self rescue skills. Both courses were tailored to my requirements. They were... read more

    thomaspuddy
    9/03/2019

      Very professional, experienced and fantastic knowledge on top of being a great educator. Fully recommend Patrick for anyone pursuing to learn or expand any outdoor related skills.

    Dream689818
    9/02/2019

      Top notch map reading and navigation course with Patrick, who is as patient and professional as he is knowledgeable! Highly recommended. Loved every minute, and am looking forward to putting... read more

    Siân M
    8/31/2019